Co. Dublin Wreck List "D"
Back to Main Index Map

 

Vessel Type:

Steamer

Location:Co. Dublin
Date of Loss:18th October 1885Place:Lambay Island
Cause of Loss:Struck rocksBoat Dive from:Howth
Charted Depth:20mIrish O.S. Map:Discovery Series No. 50
Height of Wreck:3mAdmiralty Chart No:1468 and/or 44
Hull Material:IronLatitude:53 29.30 North
Type of Seabed:Longitude:06 West
Average Visibility:Diving Experience:
No image listed.
 
Diving Information:
  • Lies in 20 metres at North-East end of Lambay Island.
  • Site is marked by two split rocks.
  • There is a large ring on the stern rail.
  • Another section of wreck lies 100yds to the East.
 
Historical Information:
  • Built in 1883 by Scott & Co., Bowling, se grossed 270 tons and measured 42.67 x 6.73 x 3.20m.
  • Powered by a 2 cylinder compound steam engine which generated 55h.p.
  • She was owned by J. Hay & Sons of Glasgow, and was under charter to Tedcastles to deliver coal to Dublin from Glasgow.
  • In thick fog she struck the rocks.
  • The 15 crew escaped without injury.
 
Source Publications:
"Irish Wrecks Database"
by
Roy Stokes & Liam Dowling
"Shipwreck Index of Ireland"
by
Richard & Bridget Larn
Lloyd's Register - Fairplay Ltd 2002 - ISBN: 1900839970
"Shipwrecks of the Irish Coast 932 - 1997"
by
Edward J. Bourke
Edward J. Bourke 1998 - ISBN: 0952302713
"Underwater Ireland Guide to Irish Dive Sites"
by
Irish Underwater Council
CFT 1999 - ISBN: 0948283025
Co. Dublin Wreck List "D"

Last update - 07-Feb-2006

Back to Main Index Map

A page from "www.irishwrecksonline.net"